State Specific Guidelines

Home / State Specific Guidelines

State Specific Guidelines

The State Specific Guidelines below are intended to provide exam candidates with information relative to the demographic in which they practice.  The AMCA does not guarantee the below information as rules/regulations change frequently and sometimes rapidly.  The AMCA will make every attempt to provide accurate information as it is our vision to continually be a resource to our candidates. 


List of Approved Certifying Organization Examinations
Personnel Licensure & Certification


Effective July 1, 2017
CS/CS/HB 209  – Medical Faculty & Medical Assistant Certification
Medical Faculty & Medical Assistant CertificationRequires DOH to process certain applications for temporary certificate using personal identification number; revises circumstances under which visiting physician may be issued temporary certificate; revises list of schools at which certain faculty members are eligible to receive medical faculty certificate; authorizes certificate holder to practice at certain hospitals; authorizes certain medical directors to request provision of care & treatment; provides requirement for certified medical assistant credential; revises qualifications for employment as medical assistant in certain testing center.


Louisiana Board of Medical Examiners
LSBME  – See Page 6 For A List Of Approved Certifications


The state seeks to identify industry-recognized credentials that meet national quality standards, are recognized by third parties, support improved employment prospects, and have market value. While a credential does not guarantee employment the state’s vetted list of credentials will help protect students and adults transitioning into the workforce from poor quality credentials and promote credentials that can assist Nevadans in securing employment by providing evidence of skills and information on entry points into relevant industries.
Click here to view a list of AMCA approved credentials on page 6

New Jersey

New Jersey Administrative Code, Title 13, Law and Public Safety, Chapter 35, NJ Board of Medical Examiners


March 14: CTE AMCA is added to the list of accepted accredited certifications.

Accreditation is the process by which a credentialing or educational program is evaluated against defined standards and is awarded recognition if it is in compliance with those standards. The Institute for Credentialing Excellence (ICE) currently offers accreditation to professional certification programs through the National  Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) which is recognized by the Department of Defense. All Health Science promoted industry certification credentialing companies are accredited through ICE

Washington State DOH

The Clinical Medical Assistant Certification Examination through the American Medical Certification Association (AMCA) now satisfies the exam requirement for the medical assistant-certified credential. See the complete list of recognized exams.